A beautiful, unique rainbow is always best.

Onward with the big, fat lesbian wedding planning journey

First thing to tackle:

Colors.

I had a planning revelation this week over “colors.”  Yes, you read that right– a revelation.  I was perusing the website of the photographer I did NOT choose whose online survey insisted on the following information:

* What are your wedding colors?

* What will the bridesmaids be wearing?

* How many attendants will you have?

* Please specify the type of footwear every single person participating in your ceremony, your reception and your honeymoon will wear– and exactly what color each shoe will be.

Okay, so maybe that last part was a slight exaggeration, but you get the idea.

Truth is, I don’t know my “colors.”

I really like blue and I hope to find a thrift-shop-gem of a cerulean blue dress in which to dance down the aisle.  Heck, I also like peach and rose, most browns, and certain shades of pink…  In fact, I’ve become sort of a “rainbow” gal lately– pun completely intended.  So all these color questions sent me straight into a mini-panic.

Had I already picked “my colors” by accident??

I had sent out some cards with save-the-date refrigerator magnets.  The magnets matched the colors in the picture I chose– dark red, gray, light blue.  But the cards were actually pink and brown with maybe a little gold somewhere in there… kind of a funky pattern… oh whatever, I don’t really remember.  I just thought they looked cool.

But should I have thought all this through?  Did my colors now have to be red and gray? And what about the reception decor?  The invitations?  The flowers?  Was everything supposed to match??

Just when I was about to call the amazing photographer I DID choose and insist on only black and white prints to save my sanity….

I remembered what my grandmother taught my mom:

“If you love it, buy it– it will go.”

Meaning if you’re trying to coordinate your living room in all browns and blues and cream, but you fall head-over-heels in LOVE with an orange afghan with purple flowers… well then, go ahead and bring that afghan home.  Because the simple truth is that the human eye isn’t always as good a judge as the human heart.  If you coordinate your “colors” with your heart, instead of trying to focus your eyes on what “should” match up according to some style magazine, you will never go wrong.

Kind of a neat life lesson, don’t ya think?

So here’s the Grateful Lesbian Bride’s Wedding Planning Tip #1:

If you love it, go with it and ignore anyone who asks about your “colors.”  Because in the end, a beautiful, unique rainbow is always best.

2 thoughts on “A beautiful, unique rainbow is always best.

  1. What about a retro dress, like the old bridesmaid dress of your mom’s that you wore to Laurel and your Dad’s wedding? I think it’d be cool if you could even wear that dress again, since it was your mom’s, but maybe you want something “new” that you haven’t worn before.

Leave a comment